Good, True, Beautiful: Week 1

1. The Common Rule: Advent Edition

This has been a great part of Advent. I really appreciate the different ways they seek to encourage life-long habits and rhythms that create healthy flourishing.

2. Light Upon Light

by Sarah Arthur, author of the recently released book on the life and legacy of Madeleine L’Engle. This compilation of poetry, scripture, and narrative (old and new) has been as lovely and life-giving as it sounds this Advent season.

3. ANOMOLY

by Salomon Ligthelm, director who I admire greatly for his ability to create such piercing, beautiful work. I’ve listened to a couple interviews he’s given and appreciate his thought process when it comes to both creating compelling art and loving his family well.

4. The Gulf Coast of Texas

We spent the week of Christmas not far from the Gulf Coast, at Jakob’s parents house. The tangible delights of salty breezes, a beach to explore, rhythmic tides, citrus for the taking at church, and eating meals upon meals of fresh seafood (at home and in restaurants) are all things to be grateful for, even for a short while.

5. Book Find: Wildflowers

Follow the link above to read why I’m so stoked about this Half Price Books purchase.

6. Stranger Things

Though late to the cultural party, I can now say this show is as excellent as everyone said. Jakob and I finished season 2 today, and I must say, he’s the best watching partner and commentator.

7. Nicholas Brittell Compositions

There are few things as lovely as an excellent soundtrack to add magic to your dinner party, your cross-country flight, or your evening work. The scores for both If Beale Street Could Talk and Moonlight have been on repeat this past week more times than I can count.

8. Emotional Releases: Tears and Laughter

I think  I can honestly say that this past year I have cried and laughed more frequently than in any recent year. The hard and dark stuff has brought out a well of tears and thoughts. The hilarious and joyful stuff has brought out insanely ridiculous laughter. Having a husband who is there for it all (catalyzing a majority of the laughter belly-aches) has been a cathartic gift and I love him.

9. Sayable – “Love [Your Neighbor as] Yourself”

by Lore Ferguson Wilbert, a wise woman whose writing always has an eagerly listening ear in me. This recent piece grabbed me in the best way.

10. Curator Magazine – “A Piece of the Past”

by Daniel Melville Jones, an internet pal and someone I would like to read more personal narrative writing from.

11. Fathom Magazine – “A Christmas Hymn”

by Aarik Danielsen, writer for the Columbia Tribune, lay elder at our church, and writer of the regular column The (Dis)Content over at Fathom Magazine.

12. Image Journal – “In Praise of Boredom”

by James K.A. Smith, whose piece here is poignantly jarring.

13. From Ash Parsons – “Happy First Day of the Mystery”

by Ash Parsons, who has the best bio of herself…. which somehow draws you in and makes you feel known and safe and at home. This piece made me explode with joy over how lovely her ability to communicate is. It’s a compelling thing to see aspects of your own heart in someone else’s writing.

14. Internet Friends

I’ve met several folks in person over the years, after developing internet friendships based on shared interests, passions, or experiences. We recently met some pals over coffee in Houston and I highly recommend it.

15. Torchy’s Tacos

We almost missed our flight home because of it, but I’d say the stop for this beloved Texan meal was worth it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑